DVD Review: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic - Call of the Cutie

Ever wondered what that little mark on a My Little Pony's flank is called?  Well, now you know, it's a 'cutie mark', and sometimes you have to wait a long while to find out what yours will be when it magically appears, as some of the little ponies in this new My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic DVD find out.

In the cheerful Ponyville classroom, teacher Cherilee tells her pony pupils about cutie marks, and how they are created. To discover their cutie mark, the special symbol which appears on a pony’s flank once they’ve discovered their purpose in life, each pony must discover their unique talent.  Meet Cutie Crusaders Apple Bloom, Sweetie Belle, and Scootaloo, who want to discover their talent and decide to found a secret society as they try to find out what their cutie mark will be - “The Cutie Mark Crusaders”.

Twilight Sparkle, Pinkie Pie, Rarity, Fluttershy, Rainbow Dash, Applejack, whom we met in the first DVD in the series Welcome to Ponyville, help the young ponies on their voyage of self-discovery.  Working together, their quest takes them on a fun-filled journey, learning valuable lessons about friendship along the way.

Just like the first DVD, the stories here are well-written, engaging and have good moral fibre, without being overly preachy or moralistic.  I think the way friendship and social issues are tackled is beautifully done, and for a fast-developing toddler like Lara, some valuable and powerful lessons can be absorbed.  The first DVD has barely been out of our DVD player, and I know this one will be joining it in strict rotation, both girls are completely absorbed by the world of Ponyville, and adore their new pony friends.  Highly recommended!

The episodes on this DVD are:
  • Call of the Cutie
  • Fall Weather Friends
  • Stare Master
  • The Show Stoppers
  • The Cutie Mark Chronicles

My Little Pony: Call Of The Cutie [DVD] is available from 14th October 2013 in all good retailers, priced £12.99.